Front runner finishes the season on a high with championship win

By Daniel Powell
Updated June 7 2022 - 2:24pm, first published May 31 2022 - 12:10pm

LISMORE speedway driver Jordan Biviano won the NSW title in production sedans in the season final at Grafton.

Lismore driver won the NSW title in his division at the Grafton Speedway. Picture: Butcher Photography.
Lismore driver won the NSW title in his division at the Grafton Speedway. Picture: Butcher Photography.

Biviano, who had started from pole position for the feature race, was among the front runners for the entire 30-lap distance.

He chased after pole sitter and long-time leader Michael Mason and took control of the lead on lap 17, and from there, he was never headed and scored the win.

Joining Biviano on the podium was Michael Mason in second and current Queensland Champion Daniel Henshaw in third.

The top-five finishers were completed by defending NSW Champion Joel Berkeley, who was guest driving for the Lester Motorsport team, and Dakota Laverty.

In other races, the current Queensland Champion Mick Shelford headed into the NSW Modified Sedan Title as one of the favourites.

Shelford, who finished third in the last running of the NSW Title, didn't let the pressure of being amongst the favourites get to him.

In what was a hard- fought feature-race battle, Shelford was able to stay out of harm's way and moved into the lead on lap 23, when he took the lead away from front-row starter and leader Shane MacDonald after he had made a driver error and collected the wall.

Once out in front, he went on to greet the chequered flag the winner. Behind Shelford was fellow Queenslanders Shannon Blackburn in second and Shane MacDonald aboard his damage car in third.

In the support class action, David Putsey took out the final Northern Rivers Rumble Series round for the RSA Street Stockers ahead of Luke Gray and Connor Reeves.

The Northern Rivers Rumble Series point score was picked up by Connor Reeves after he had finished Saturday's action in third place.

The other feature-race winners at the season finale were Brodie King (RSA Four Cylinder Sedans), Jeremy Wade (RSA Junior Sedans), Harry Fowler (SSA Junior Sedans) and Colin Crepin (Legend Cars).